Connect with us


KD Lang one of 8 Albertans to get province’s highest honour


1 minute read

from Government of Alberta:

Eight remarkable Albertans will become members of  the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2018.

The Order is the province’s highest honour a citizen can receive and is an official part of the Canadian Honours System.

“Each member of the Alberta Order of Excellence has contributed something truly unique and lasting to our province. They are trailblazers who share the best of themselves and who encourage us all to join in the goal of building the brightest possible future for Albertans and all Canadians.”

Lt.-Gov. Lois E. Mitchell

The Alberta Order of Excellence members to be invested in 2018 are:

  • Reg Basken, Edmonton
  • Rosella Bjornson, Sherwood Park
  • Wayne Chiu, Calgary
  • k.d. lang, Calgary
  • David Manz, Calgary
  • Solomon Rolingher, Edmonton
  • Allan Wachowich, Edmonton
  • Ralph Young, Edmonton

The investiture ceremony will be held in Edmonton on Thursday, Oct. 18. This will bring the total membership of the Alberta Order of Excellence to 173. Biographies of the new members will be available closer to the investiture.

Related information

Todayville is a digital media and technology company. We profile unique stories and events in our community. Register and promote your community event for free.

Follow Author


Canada to send more weapons to Ukraine, Trudeau says on trip to Kyiv

Published on

Continue Reading


In this youth baseball league, fans who mistreat umpires are sentenced to do the job themselves

Published on


Continue Reading